The Master Plan of Evangelism

15 Jun

A weekly part of my internship here in Costa Rica includes a  mentoring time with one of the EMI staff members. My mentor is Dan, a structural engineer that has been on staff here in the Latin American office for 3 years.

Dan and I just finished reading the book The Master Plan of Evangelism, by Robert E.Coleman. It is a great book that seeks to identify the principles behind the way Jesus did evangelism, whereas many other books on this subject tend to focus on particular methods or techniques of evangelism. The author does a good job of identifying Jesus’ principles and comes the ultimate conclusion that Jesus’ master plan of evangelism is disciples-making. 

Throughout the semester, Dan and I have been challenging ourselves to apply what we are learning to our lives. I have been going to the park weekly with one of the 5 other interns to have conversations with people about God.

A few weeks ago, Wesley and I met a guy named Orontes. Wesley and I were able to share the Gospel with him that day and since then Dan and I have been meeting with him weekly to study the Bible and teach him other important aspects of the Christian life. This is just one example of many lives that God is using us to touch here in Costa Rica. He has been teaching me a lot about his plan for building His church here on earth. His plan is to work through His children to train disciple-makers to reach the whole world.

Jesus said, “This gospel of the kingdom will be preached throughout the whole world as a testimony to all the nations; and then the end will come.” -Matthew 24:14

There is no question whether this promise will be fulfilled. Nothing can stop God’s plan to have the gospel preached throughout the whole world. God plan is to work through believers in Christ to make this promise a reality.

The question is are you joining Him?

3 Responses to “The Master Plan of Evangelism”

  1. Rex Zenger June 15, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    Hi Jeff! Good thoughts! Praying for you and your mission!

    Rex

  2. Ross Hand June 16, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    I want to be more in 🙂
    Please pray for me and other brothers and sisters.

  3. Randall Schober June 16, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    Jeff
    The Lord is really using your witness in a powerful way! Know that you are in Mom’s and my prayers always. We love you.

    Love Dad

Leave a comment